Hoverflies pretending to be bumblebees

The sunshine over the past few days has brought out the insects. Here are a couple of hoverflies mimicking bumblebees

This is a female Volucella bombylans – note the featherlike antennae

And this is Merodon equestris – it is mimicking the Common Carder Bumblebee

One thought on “Hoverflies pretending to be bumblebees

  1. I’ve seen and photographed V.bombylans a couple of weeks ago in one of my favourite local hoverfly haunts. Nice to see the narcissi form of M.equestris you’ve captured here and I will keep my eyes open as I had them in my garden last year along with the bulborum form.

    A very interesting blog Adrian.

Leave a Reply

