A Western Bee-fly in my garden in Exeter

Yesterday in the warm sunshine I came across a very small bee-fly in my garden. I have regularly seen the larger Dark-edged Bee-fly (Bombylius major) but I have never seen a Western Bee-fly (Bombylius canescens) in the garden before. If I want to see one of these I normally go to Hembury Woods on Dartmoor.

Distinctive bee-fly with its long proboscis – the animal was around 8mm long

Feeding on Germander Speedwell flowers – gives a good indication of the size of the bee-fly

The dark core with the lighter fringing hairs is distinctive.

As you can see from this distribution map (courtesy of the NBN) it is not a common animal

One thought on “A Western Bee-fly in my garden in Exeter

  1. Pingback: The Western bee fly is back – A Dartmoor blog

Leave a Reply

