One heck of a sign

When I was in Cornwall last week I came across this sign in the car park at Porthcurno.

Porthcurno sign
I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a detailed parking sign which explained in such detail the consequences of not paying.

However its complexity appeared counter productive – whilst I was sitting in the car having a snack several people came up and read the sign trying to work out what to do next. The key fact for me was the charging period and therefore all the detailed rules only apply between the 15th March and the 31st October. Outside that time it is free. I had to intervene with one potential parker as he was about to insert his coins for a ticket.

Perhaps giving the state of local authority finances I should have let him pay but I felt that after I had invested so much time in reading the sign it only seemed polite to follow the instructions.

One thought on “One heck of a sign

Leave a Reply

