Cedars at the University

In my experience nature conservationists and botanists in the UK are rather dismissive of exotic conifers and tend to ignore them! I have been in this category in the past. However with acquisition of Fingle Woods and the need to manage the conifers there over a long period of time into the future as part of the restoration works I have decided to fill my ID oversights / blindspots. Over the coming weeks I will do a few blogs on conifer ID particularly as it relates to Fingle Woods. In the meantime I popped up to the University of Exeter and had a look around the fabulous Gardens and the Pinetum. I dug out a really old book to help me around.

Exeter Uni bookA book about the fabulous collection of exotic trees and scrubs in the grounds of the University. Conifers can be overwhelming – especially when the collection involved comes from all four corners of the globe (well you know what I mean). So I chose to look at a specific group – the cedars.

Cedar of L2This is a Cedar of Lebanon (native to Lebanon and the Taurus mountains) beside the Hatherley Labs on the Prince of Wales Road (where I did my degree). I have known this tree for 35 years! To me Cedars look a bit like acacias on the African Savannah – tall trees with the branches going out in flat parallel planes.

Cedar of L1A classic  Cedar pine cone

Blue atlas cedar2This is a Blue Atlas Cedar (the Atlas Mountains in North Africa) on Streatham Drive – lovely glaucous blue leaves and a dripping cone

Cedar deodar 1And this is a Deodara Cedar (from the Western Himalayas) – a few hundred metres down the road from the Blue Atlas Cedar – the needles look a bit like a larch but otherwise the trees and their cones are very different.

Also came across a couple of pieces of art which caught my eye.

Exeter Uni art 1Mariners Way II by Edward Crumpton – 1200m of hand-knotted tarred marlin rope

Exeter Uni art 3The Peacock again by Edward Crumpton with the University of Exeter Art Society

The grounds of the University in Exeter are wonderful and are well worth a visit. Car parking is available on Streatham Drive and the Prince of Wales Road – there is a lot to see between the Queen’s Building and Hope Hall.

One thought on “Cedars at the University

  1. Pingback: Reed Hall Exeter – A Dartmoor and Devon blog

Leave a Reply

