Blue heron – my photos of a new bird for Britain!

I am on holiday for a few days on the Isles of Scilly and very fortunately this coincides with the first record in the UK of a blue heron – a bird from from North America. As a result I whizzed off the Scillonian ferry to Bryher on a tripper boat. Here are some pictures I took of the bird on the Great Pool on Bryher.

If you are into ‘life lists / twitching’ – this is a big bird! My only other ‘first’ for the UK was the ‘long billed murrelet at Dawlish a few years ago.

UPDATE: I believed the Western Morning News which reported this species as new to Britain – in fact it is the second record. Amazingly the first record (7th December 2007) and this record were both found by the same person on the Isles of Scilly.

Blue Heron 4

Blue Heron 7

Blue Heron 6

Blue Heron 1

Blue Heron 7

Blue Heron 3

 

2 thoughts on “Blue heron – my photos of a new bird for Britain!

Leave a Reply

