A walk around Parke

I always enjoy a walk around Parke – it is where my office is and as a result I often use the grounds to clear my head or think things through! As a result it is my barometer for the seasons. Yesterday the chiffchaffs arrived – I counted 5 singing males.

The spring flowers are now emerging in force.

Lesser celandine-2Celandines have been out for a few weeks but now all individual plants are flowering

PrimrosesPrimroses are everywhere too – won’t be long I expect before I see the bee flies that love to pollinate them (pictures to follow!)

WoodanemoneWood anemones  – just emerging

Wood sorrelWood sorrel

PignutThese fine leaves look like carrot leaves but are in fact those of the woodland umbellifer – Pignut

BluebellsAnd of course the bluebell will steal the show but will have to wait another month before it does – it gives all the other plants their 15 minutes of fame

Parke weirThe weir at Parke

Leave a Reply

