Long tailed tits – they always cheer me up!

Long tailed tits are not, at least for me, a bird you go looking for – they are birds that arrive. You normally hear them before you see them – they are noisy and gregarious. They flit through the trees in our woods and gardens often arriving in flocks of up to 20. I don’t use this word very often but to me they are rather cute!

You can hear their distinctive calls and learn more about them by listening to Tweet of the Day here.

Here are a few photos I took earlier in the week of some long tailed tits in my garden.

Long tailed tit 1

Long tailed tit 2

Long tailed tit 3

Long tailed tit 4

Leave a Reply

