The Exe Hammer

Yesterday I went to Exmouth to watch a paddle board race! There were over 70 entrants. Here are some of my photos from the day and here is the link to the full photo set. It was a dull overcast day and it even tried to drizzle at one point, nevertheless it was a fun afternoon.

SUP24The Exe Hammer – an eight mile race from Exmouth seafront up to the Turf Locks followed by a couple of sprint races beside the pub.

SUP1All the entrants / competitors at the start

SUP3A very patient dog! He’s got nearly 2 hours standing there ahead of him

 

 

SUP8After the start I cycled from Exmouth around to the Turf Locks on the very excellent cycle tracks – I covered 13 miles and when I got there the first paddle boarders had already covered their 8 miles.

SUP10Looking pretty pleased with himself.

SUP19A couple of brightly coloured inflatable Red Paddle Co boards

SUP21I like the Starboard logo

SUP14In the sprint race everyone uses the same Naish One 12′ 6″ board – neatly lined up outside the Turf Locks (where I tried my first ever pint of Otter Ale’s Lager)

SUP17This young lady was super fast – she was first in the lady’s 8 mile event

SUP22Sprinting for the finish

Quite fancy giving it a go myself next year!

 

Leave a Reply

